Emerging Composers Competition

Emerging Composers Competition

MYO Emerging Composers Competition Winners

Congratulations to our prizewinners of the 2017-2018 MYO Emerging Composers Competition!

Choral Division: SATB Youth Choir

First Place: Christopher Fludd, Hold You in My Smile
Second Place: Daniel Werth, Forest Road
Third Place: Adin Boyer, Invitation
Honorable Mention: Tiffany Cuaresma, Eloi

Orchestral Division: Symphony Orchestra

First Place: Lauren Vandervelden, Conflicted Momentum
Second Place: Charles Meenaghan, Sands of Time
Third Place: Brent Morden, Danzón
Honorable Mention: Jasmine Bryant, Dare and Ludub Ochirov, Piano Concerto No. 2


Prizewinners in each Division will receive a cash award and may have their composition performed by one of our MYO ensembles in the 2018-2019 season.

First Place: $500
Second Place: $200
Third Place: $100

While there is no prize money attached to an Honorable Mention, it is an opportunity to recognize these talented young composers by name.

Thank you to all of our talented competition applicants for sharing your scores and your music with MYO!

Special Guest Panelist

Daniel Ott is a 2013 recipient of the Goddard Lieberson Fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He has received commissions from the National Symphony Orchestra, New York City Ballet’s Choreographic Institute, the Chiara Quartet, and Bargemusic, among others, and has been honored multiple times by the ASCAP Foundation. His music has been set to dance by some of the world’s leading choreographers, including Larry Keigwin, Benjamin Millepied, Alexei Ratmansky, and Christopher Wheeldon. Ott’s music has been heard all over the world, most notably at Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, the Kennedy Center, Sadler’s Wells, the Musée du Louvre, the Guggenheim Museum, and the Foro Internacional de Música Nueva in Mexico. He holds degrees from the Curtis Institute of Music and the Juilliard School, and currently serves on the faculty of both Juilliard and Fordham University, where he is Assistant Professor of Music Theory and Composition.